Medicine Drum

The London-based electronic group Medicine Drum consisted of Chris Deckker, Andy Guthrie, and DJ Chrisbo. Deckker traveled to India, Bali, and Africa to study the rhythms, sounds, and styles of each locale, while Guthrie produced and wrote songs with Children of the Bong and Banco De Gaia. The trio made their debut in 1996 with the Suraya Mela EP, which introduced their psychedelic, ethnic-inspired trance. 1997 saw the release of their self-titled debut album and their second full-length, Siouxpernature; their third album, Talking Stick, arrived in 1999 on Higher Octave. Supernature appeared in early 2001.