Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Apr 1

What White People Can Do Next, with Emma Dabiri

April 1 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm BST

Join Emma Dabiri, academic, broadcaster and author of Don’t Touch My Hair, as she discusses her new book in this livestreamed event.

In What White People Can Do Next, Dabiri lays out a manifesto for change born from the need to talk about racial injustice in a different way. Thoughtfully researched and presented with Dabiri’s characteristic wit and clarity, she places the conversation firmly in the context of history, class and capitalism and highlights the way racialised thinking and ‘whiteness’ as a system is destructive for everyone. Identifying solidarity in difference, Emma draws on a broad range of themes beyond the current ‘anti-racist’ framework, from philosophy to psychedelics, to create a road map to liberation.

Emma will be talking to Guardian contributor and director of CLASS think tank Ellie Mae O’Hagan about her radical call to action that incisively tackles how we can transform demonstrations of support into meaningful change. She will also share her vision of a reimagined future that challenges people to stop the denial, interrogate capitalism, denounce the white saviour and educate ourselves.

Running time: 60 minutes

If you live in the UK, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of What White People Can Do Next at checkout for the special combined price of £12 including postage and packing.

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform BlueJeans, please refer to their privacy policy before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

If you require closed captions to be available on this event please notify us on your booking form when making your purchase.

This event is being streamed globally.

8pm BST | 9pm CEST | 12pm PDT | 3pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

If you are unable to join at the time of streaming, this event will be available to watch on demand in the days following. A link to the recording will be sent to all ticket holders by email.

For complete details: Click Here

Responses