Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Mar 30

Feeling safe on our streets: Why women are angry and what needs to change

March 30 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm BST

Join our panel for a livestreamed discussion exploring the reignited debate around women’s safety.

The tragic death of Sarah Everard sparked an emotional response and launched a nationwide conversation about violence, abuse and harassment against women in the UK. Vigils took place across the country and on Clapham Common an event was heavily policed with the Metropolitan police commissioner, Cressida Dick, coming under attack on the night and in the days following.

According to a UN Women UK survey, 86% of women aged 18-24 have been sexually harassed, while 71% of women of all ages said they had experienced sexual harassment in public spaces. At the same time, rape convictions are at an all time low with just 2.6% of cases ending in conviction. Campaigners are asking the government to take action to tackle violence against women and girls, urging for a major public health campaign and long-term funding for the women’s sector.

Alexandra Topping, who has been covering this developing story for the Guardian, will chair a panel – including Jess Phillips MP, Andrea Simon, director of End Violence Against Women Coalition, and Dr Stephen Burrell of Durham University – to explore this urgent debate around women’s safety, women’s relationship with the police and prosecution service, and what the government needs to do to make a lasting change.

All profits from this event will be donated to relevant charities.

Running time: 60 minutes

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform BlueJeans, please refer to their privacy policy before purchasing a ticket to the event. After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

If you require closed captions to be available on this event notify us on your booking form when making your purchase.

This event is being streamed globally.

7:30pm BST | 8:30pm CEST | 11:30am PDT | 2:30pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

For complete details: Click Here

Responses